PC adobe illustrator help (Read 189 times)

  • Avatar of something bizarre and impractical
  • It's The Only Thing.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: May 17, 2004
  • Posts: 2104
Whenever I set my parameters for my paintbrush (colour, size, brush, etc), as soon as I make a stroke it reverts them back to what they were previously. Does anyone with Illustrator experience know why this is? It's really annoying and it makes it impossible for me to work within the program.
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Brushes work with stroke color rather than fill color. This is important because if you're accidentally changing the FILL color rather than stroke color then you won't notice any difference. Can't really think of why any other parameters would revert back to the default, though. Maybe you can upload a screenshot of which tool you're exactly using and how you're setting the size and other things?
  • Avatar of something bizarre and impractical
  • It's The Only Thing.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: May 17, 2004
  • Posts: 2104
I think I've resolved this, but I'll post this anyone because I'm not exactly sure if/how I did.





Last Edit: October 08, 2010, 10:56:18 pm by Farmrush
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Yeah I think the "basic" preset might not work entirely well. That's really strange. You'd think it would remove all special styles such as the brush pattern you selected before it.

Try just clicking on one of the tiny round ones instead, they'll work properly.
  • Avatar of something bizarre and impractical
  • It's The Only Thing.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: May 17, 2004
  • Posts: 2104
It does. And that's sort of what I figured out through posting on the adobe forums, but I still don't really know WHY. I made the basic brush as part of the person posting on the adobe forum's instructions, but I really don't understand what Illustrator is doing. I came from flash so I expect >click paintbrush >select size >make lines.
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Maybe the basic preset is just plain broken in this version. Just ignore it, the rest should work.
  • Avatar of Doppleganger
  • Split into many...
  • PipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 16, 2002
  • Posts: 260
I'm not sure exactly your problem or the solution you're looking for, or if any of that still needs solving, but....

When I'm drawing with the brush and specify the settings, I can also draw only once before it reverts. The best way I have found to rectify this in my work flow is to choose the direct select tool (A), select the drawn brush stroke with it, and then revert back to my brush tool (B). This seems to keep the brush settings to whatever settings were on the image I direct selected before swapping tools. It's still kind of annoying, but it gets the job done with relatively little interruption.
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Does that happen just with the "basic preset" or also with other brushes?
  • Avatar of Doppleganger
  • Split into many...
  • PipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 16, 2002
  • Posts: 260
Well, I don't typically work with brushes except for roughing in sketches 99% of the time, so whenever I work with the brush I usually just set up the parameters on the stroke  itself and use those settings throughout the sketch. Obviously this isn't what you're needing to do with the brush, but I felt we shared a similar issue in the brush not initially maintaining the parameters it was set to.

So to answer your question the best I can; when my brush reverts to something other than what I was using, it is always the basic preset that it ends up on. And the best way I can avoid my brush reverting is to direct select a brush stroke on the stage. After that the parameters on my active brush will be preserved until I do something drastic like start making shapes of different colors or changing the color and stroke settings on my pen tool. But in reality I don't actually have saved versions of the brushes I usually use. I just adjust them on the fly and trash them after that.