Topic: I discovered something new about RM2K (Read 1469 times)

  • Pip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Dec 2, 2010
  • Posts: 117
what A noob >_< xD
  • Avatar of The One
  • my freinds call me theo but u can call me god
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2009
  • Posts: 486
i asked that, thats how i knew

what's the specific question you did asking
  • Avatar of MISTER BIG T
  • Uggablaggableaggh!
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Sep 7, 2006
  • Posts: 527
Great, now you can use this skill to improve on your maps and make them look more fluent when the dirt road doesn't suddenly pop up in the middle of grass, suddenly surrouding the high grass area.


It will take you some time to go back to your mapping and do these changes to every map where such errors were present but overall I am sure this will help improve your game.


By the way, this was not new thing at all and was widely known among majority of RPGmakers. However, it's not written anywhere clear that I know of and I've known very, very experienced RPGmakers who never knew about it before reading about it somewhere. It's a hidden function that should have gotten way much more exposure by Enterbrain, so honestly there's nothing weird or bad about The One just now stumbling about it.

Knowing or not knowing doesn't make one "noob" or "epic master of awesomeness", as like I said the function of such is largely undocumented. It took me several years before I would learn such things, then again I was with the program way before any Help File was ever present. (Though, I am fairly sure this function is not explained in depth in there?)

 
And that's when I decided to become a barber.
 
@drbigt
 

"*sniff* your work, just inspires me to become a better lover." - Brent Murray.
  • Avatar of The One
  • my freinds call me theo but u can call me god
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2009
  • Posts: 486
Well to be honest I never had mapping errors like that because I always used to copy dirt tiles and put them on the edges to get the same effect. This is just way faster and saves a lot of time.
  • Avatar of Mateui
  • GW Staff: Article Alcoholic (Current Mood: Happy!)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Aug 20, 2002
  • Posts: 1685
Please tell me you know that Proceed with Movement executes all the Move Commands above it before executing the command after it. Somehow that's one handy thing some people never find out, so they always have to use wait commands to guess how long it takes for move commands to finish.
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5531
If you hold down Shift to select all maps/locations in your game and then press Delete, your game will be converted into a 3D action adventure collectathon.
  • Avatar of The One
  • my freinds call me theo but u can call me god
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2009
  • Posts: 486
Please tell me you know that Proceed with Movement executes all the Move Commands above it before executing the command after it. Somehow that's one handy thing some people never find out, so they always have to use wait commands to guess how long it takes for move commands to finish.

Yeah I do know that one. But that's 2k3 only, right? Meaning in 2k, you still need to guess how long it takes with waits. Which sucks.
  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Oct 30, 2005
  • Posts: 2527
Do you know the <Wait 0.0> trick?
  • Avatar of The One
  • my freinds call me theo but u can call me god
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2009
  • Posts: 486
No, what's that?
  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Oct 30, 2005
  • Posts: 2527
to reduce lag?
  • Avatar of The One
  • my freinds call me theo but u can call me god
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jul 10, 2009
  • Posts: 486
Oh that, well I never really had any lag in any of my games, only once if I recall
  • Administrator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Oct 30, 2005
  • Posts: 2527
Well you basically put a Wait 0.0 at the end of every event that loops on itself. forget what's that called. and also inside loops. I've tried it since i've been on  the business of making custom systems on rm as well and it really does significantly reduce lag.
  • Avatar of fatty
  • i am a swordsman
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Oct 20, 2004
  • Posts: 2302
I didn't know this, holy fuck. All I did was copy and paste individual tiles when trying to do this.
  • Avatar of Batistaberg
  • lol
  • PipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Aug 27, 2008
  • Posts: 226
You have won 2 extra minutes of liftime with this awesome trick!
the infamous "Shakesbeer Translat0r" troll topique (14 pg.)
the infamous "Women Can't Make Games" troll topique (18 pg.)

  • Avatar of Medieve
  • Mini-Game Mage
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Jun 29, 2002
  • Posts: 561
So noobie.
  • Avatar of Malad
  • Resident Lurker
  • PipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Nov 7, 2005
  • Posts: 249
O you can pass over X u cant!!
what's updog?