PC Ok, This is freaking WEIRD. (Read 1644 times)

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
At first, I bought a usb 2.0 hub with 4 ports, plugged it into my comp, and off it went, merrily along its way. (without installing anything)

Then I had to format my system, and now, it says, install drivers to use usb 2.0. So I try, and it says SP1 or higher required and that with SP2, it's included.

So I format again, with SP2, and STILL it doesn't freaking work. What gives?
Last Edit: November 04, 2007, 07:18:29 am by Guts
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Maybe you need to install drivers from a CD that came with your computer. I always had to do that with my Dell.
  • Avatar of Ghost_Aspergers
  • The man in the woods.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Jul 1, 2003
  • Posts: 2752
So you formatted your computer in order to get SP2... even though all you had to do was go to microsoft's automatic update site/ function to get the updates?

Or go to the manufacturer's site and get the drivers?

I don't know what to say. Why are people convinved that formatting solves their problems?
  • BAA2U
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Aug 7, 2007
  • Posts: 1403
Are all the drivers for your motherboard installed?
I had to run my motherboard isntall cd again after sp2 to get it to install the USB 2.0 drivers.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
So you formatted your computer in order to get SP2... even though all you had to do was go to microsoft's automatic update site/ function to get the updates?

Or go to the manufacturer's site and get the drivers?

I don't know what to say. Why are people convinved that formatting solves their problems?

Uhh.... Dude, my copy of windows is "questionable". You think im stupid? Of course I tried to upgrade to SP2 but it  kept saying, " the key used to install this copy of windows is different" or something.

and the stupid motherboard driver says:

"How to update USB 2.0 Driver on Windows XP


Microsoft Windows Update lists all available updates on the Web.
You need download Windows XP Service Pack 1 because Microsoft
USB 2.0 drivers are included."

And yet I have SP2 :\
  • Avatar of Ghost_Aspergers
  • The man in the woods.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Jul 1, 2003
  • Posts: 2752
Well, go into the device manager and try to "update" or "reinstall" the drivers (I forgot what it says), search for the drivers in the system32 folder. There are more... like (hidden)INF, System32/INF (hidden), System32/drivers, and etc. If it's there..... it's in one of these folders and it should pick the right one automatically.

Or, instead of listening to what they are telling you... look up the chipset/ additional infoes and try to find the manufacturer and download their drivers. I had similar problems when trying to install my onboard sound card. I had the CD... I had the right OS.. but the drivers wouldn't take. I had to go to the manufacturer itself and download their drivers. Even though Gigabyte made my mobo... I had to download Realtek drivers for the onboard sound. Maybe it will end up working the same way with your usb ports. You dig?
Last Edit: October 26, 2007, 01:07:02 am by Chainer
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Uhh.... Dude, my copy of windows is "questionable". You think im stupid?
It takes 5 minutes to go the extra mile and make your "questionable" Windows a "genuine" one, though.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
Would be great if I knew how. I'm not as tech savvy as you guys.

btw, the device manager doesn't show the yellow exclamation mark on the usb and when I insert my usb, it says "this device can preform faster by plugging it into the port written in BOLD "

The weird thing is, it's already inserted into the bold port  and yet ..... it doesnt work :-\
  • Avatar of Ghost_Aspergers
  • The man in the woods.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Jul 1, 2003
  • Posts: 2752
It should still give you an option to update the drivers in the device manager. Try and find the right drivers and update!
  • Avatar of dom
  • Chapter Four: The Imagination And Where It Leads
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Nov 9, 2003
  • Posts: 1022
Would be great if I knew how. I'm not as tech savvy as you guys.
basically what you do is instead of installing any old windows XP, install XP Professional Corporate Edition.
  • Avatar of Ghost_Aspergers
  • The man in the woods.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Jul 1, 2003
  • Posts: 2752
But isn't the Corporate Edition exactly the same as the rest of the versions, the only exception being the reusable serial number?
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
Well, the one I have now is Windows Xp Professional 2002 Service pack 2. And I can tell you, my old windows used to  work usb2.0 and it wasnt even SP1. Just Windows Xp Professional. Nothing else :\
  • BAA2U
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Aug 7, 2007
  • Posts: 1403
But isn't the Corporate Edition exactly the same as the rest of the versions, the only exception being the reusable serial number?

Home version is stripped down. It lacks a lot of the features and utilities of the others. It even reduces your max bandwidth by 20% by default!
  • Avatar of dom
  • Chapter Four: The Imagination And Where It Leads
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Nov 9, 2003
  • Posts: 1022
But isn't the Corporate Edition exactly the same as the rest of the versions, the only exception being the reusable serial number?
Corporate Edition does not require activation, and can use windows update.

(it still has problems with genuine checks, but there are other ways to get around those)
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
Guys, latest on the usb 2.0 woes. It's gone from freaking stupid to freaking weird.

So it was getting on my nerves that I had to wait 30 mins for a 1gb file to go to and forth from my psp, right, (remember, there was no conflict, no yellow mark, nothing) and yet, my 2.0 usb was acting like a 1.0. So I removed the usb 2.0 card, and plugged the psp into the onboard motherboard port, (which is 1.0). Strangely, it didnt hit me with the "Hi Speed device in Lo speed slot!" message. So I cut a 800mb file from the psp to the desktop, and BAM! It was going at 2.0 speed. Im like....WTF?!?!?!

So yeah, I plugged the 2.0 card back in, kept the psp hooked to the onboard usb (which is supposed to be 1.0 and is why I bought the damn card) yet, the onboard is running like a 2.0.

SO... yeah. Someone have a idea whats going on?
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5530
Well, if you're able to transfer files at a very high speed via a port in the motherboard, it means your motherboard supports USB 2.0. It most likely depends on which port you're using. Ports at the front side of your computer are usually USB 1.0, the ports on the back are faster.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
Well, the thing is, it wasn't 2.0 to begin with. I've been using this motherboard for 3 years now, and I explicitly remember plugging my usb 2.0 devices and it showing that "hi to lo" message, no matter which port I inserted it in. (There are no front ports) And now, it's "magically" 2.0 :\
  • Avatar of Alec
  • Watch out Kitty! The room turned sideways!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Apr 16, 2003
  • Posts: 1894
Quote from: You
Microsoft Windows Update lists all available updates on the Web.
You need download Windows XP Service Pack 1 because Microsoft
USB 2.0 drivers are included.
Maybe that's why. You now have SP2.
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Jun 2, 2005
  • Posts: 2014
Dude, you missed the boat. At first 2.0 was working on SP1. Then I formated with SP2 but 2.0 WASNT working anymore. (even with SP2, which is why I posted originally) Then I removed the 2.0 card and suddenly, the 1.0 motherboard becomes gung-ho and becomes 2.0.

Meh, lets just leave it at "magical" and move on.
  • BAA2U
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Aug 7, 2007
  • Posts: 1403
sounds like its a 2.0 and it finally had the drivers installed correctly.
nothing magical about that. maybe the mobo just has problems with 2.0 add in cards when on board 2.0 has been enabled.
Last Edit: November 04, 2007, 11:25:14 pm by goat