Help Dual monitors: MOAR power? (Read 879 times)

• Group: Member
Hi guys!
I just bought a new 32" widescreen LCD and I'm using it as a primary monitor for my rig. Now I'm thinking of plugging in my old 15" tablet monitor as a secondary (too late working on C4D with a mouse now that I'm used to the pen XD ). Since I'm new to multi-monitoring I've got a few questions...
- First and foremost, my specs:
  • Mobo: Gigabyte 6-Quad 959
  • Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1
  • Memory: 1GB DDR2 RAM (x2)
  • Power: 450w power supply
  • Storage: 3 HDDs + DVD-RW
  • GPU: GeForce 8800 GTS

- And the question: Do I need more power? Since the mobo doesn't have it's own monitor plug I'm plugging both on my GPU.
- Second question: Will the GPU get fried from running two at the same time (even on the long run)? I noticed a 1-2°C increase in the GPU's temperature (using Everest) when I had both monitors on.
Under Destruction
  • now das fresh
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
Uh, you do know that monitors get their power from the WALL right?

And no, running 2 monitors on an 8800GTS is not going to stress them out at all.
yes coulombs are "germaine", did you learn that word at talk like a dick school?
Uh... I'm asking about my computer, not the monitors. :mellow:
Will running two monitors on the same GPU (or in general) require more power from the PCU? and will that harm the GPU on the long run?
Under Destruction
  • now das fresh
No, running any number of monitors doesn't require any "more power." The GPU will have to work a little harder (not really, it's just rendering a larger area) so yeah it will, in that sense, take a little more power I guess. Probably not but definitely nothing you'd need to get a new power supply for.

Now if you are also asking if your rig in general (just the components of the computer themselves) would need a better PSU, maybe. Not really sure on that.
yes coulombs are "germaine", did you learn that word at talk like a dick school?
  • Comrade!