Tech Internet is buggy... -.- (Read 256 times)

  • goin to 200( Ya I made it)now 300
  • PipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Dec 31, 2005
  • Posts: 204
I just got a new computer a few days ago...
For some reason, everytime I go on the internet and type in a website name (like Machinima.com, or Bungie.net) it opens another blank window and doesn't load the website on either windows. The first window remains on google while the second does nothing... though when I click a link in the search engine... it works perfectly...
It is running Windows XP Pro Serive pack 3.
(note... I used google to get here... -.-)
Edit: I also have a modemn, yet it keeps saying it wants to connect to wireless...
I tried changing the connection settings but it would only let me choose Wireless style connections.
Last Edit: August 24, 2008, 08:11:07 am by jaller141
  • Avatar of dada
  • VILLAIN
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Administrator
  • Joined: Dec 27, 2002
  • Posts: 5531
That's very strange.  I've never had such a problem before.  As much as I'd like to figure out exactly what's wrong with your browser, for now I'd just recommend you get a different one.  Firefox is most likely going to work just fine for you.  Give it a try.
  • Avatar of The Ghost
  • Here's what I think about anything you have to say!
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Apr 24, 2005
  • Posts: 666
Check your internet options (Tools - Internet Options - Privacy) and make sure the bar is not set to ''Accept All Cookies", set it to medium if it is. Under internet options again click on the last tab which is ''Advanced''. Under browsing, make sure the check box ''Enable third party browser extensions'' is turned off. It does more damn harm then good.

Delete all your temporary files and cookies (and porn history lol). Click start - run - and type ''msconfig''. The last tab is ''Start Up'', just uncheck everything as whatever is here is not necessary for windows to funcion. Your just disabling third party programs from start up, make sure you check the root folder to see what your disabling (you might want to keep your firewall, virus scan, etc).

If your still having issues then try this malware software, I think it's pretty damn good and it's gotten rid of things I personally could not get rid of.

http://www.2shared.com/file/3814474/b74e332/mbam-setup_2_.html

(it's a pretty bad host, just wait until the link appears at the bottom).
Last Edit: August 24, 2008, 01:25:48 pm by Macubex
http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/967946252/rainfall-the-sojourn
  • Avatar of ATARI
  • Lichens!
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Oct 26, 2002
  • Posts: 4136
have you tried downloading the official internet patch (v. 2.05b) that came out last tuesday?  It seems to do some minor bug fixes  that might help you out here
  • C-Flow FTW!
  • PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Premium Member
  • Joined: Jan 16, 2008
  • Posts: 571
I use just going to say try Firefox but Dada beat me to it. Dick.
Quote from: Louie82Y
LOLWTU? You teh luight sbarMAN N9WOAIWIA !I AM ONE TOTO IM A MAST OMFG LINK BREAK ONSKAE AND BUGS ANG GUTS AND ASTLOOS SOTNES STEOPSDMS PLEASD SAMAKE ME ADMIN
  • goin to 200( Ya I made it)now 300
  • PipPip
  • Group: Member
  • Joined: Dec 31, 2005
  • Posts: 204
Found it out... when I installed Windows XP I screwed up on the order (which caused the error -.-... I should just leave stuff like that to the professionals...)